The Latest Works by Joanne Rowling and Their Screen Versions

The books of “Harry Potter” are not just the works, it’s the whole universe and the world of the childhood. Practically all the children and adults know who Joanne Rowling is, everybody loves the adventures of The Boy Who Lived. But the time doesn’t stand still and the writer had a chance to release other books.

Other Books by Joanne Rowling

Previously it had been assumed that the screen version of the novel by Joanne Rowling “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them” would be composed of three films, but later the British author reported that there would be five films. The actor Dan Fogler, who got a part of a simple American, more precisely, a muggle Jacob Kowalski, has indicated that some figures from “Harry Potter” will appear in the picture and we will be able to hear a lot of references to our favourite characters, but at a young age. It is supposed that this is primarily about the aged Professor Albus Dumbledore whose name was mentioned in one of the picture’s trailers. The author explained that Dumbledore is a young teacher in the world of “Fantastic Beasts”. 

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

The Timeline of “Fantastic Beasts”

The action of the new picture takes place in 1920s, that is 70 years before the famous events of the series of novels. The main character, Newt Scamander, expelled from the wizarding school, has to leave Britain and go to North America. There he can search and explore unusual creatures. Joanne Rowling wrote a script for the film herself.

The Prehistory or Not?

The writer emphasizes that “Fantastic Beasts” is not the prehistory of “Harry Potter” because the main figures in the plot do not meet each other. By means of “Fantastic Beasts”, Joanne, like George Lucas with his “Star Wars”, expands her fantastic universe, but this time she talks to an audience directly, without intermediaries. The author invites us to look at the world of “Harry Potter” on the other hand: not from our time. The protagonists have also changed, the audience can see three adult wizards instead of teenagers: Newt Scamander (Eddie Redmayne), his future wife Tina Goldstein (Catherine Watterson) and her younger sister Queenie Goldstein (Alison Sudol). Despite the age, Rowling’s characters have pure hearts and souls as children.

Detective Novels and Their Screen Versions

One more detective novel by a well-known writer should be screened in the United Kingdom that the writer has published under the alias “Robert Galbraith”. The author has released three novels during the period from 2013 to 2015 about Cormoran Strike and his charming, clever assistant, Robin Ellacott namely “The Cuckoo’s Call”, “Silkworm” and “Career of Evil”. All three books were screened operatively and they were broadcast through the BBC One channel. “The Cuckoo’s Call” is devoted to the investigation of the murder of the supermodel Lula Landry, “Silkworm” is told about the missing of the scandalous writer Owen Quinn and “Career of Evil” is the bloodiest part. 

Career of Evil
Career of Evil

However, in addition to the detective component, one of the most important features of the novels are psychological portraits of characters, household sketches from their life, the relationship of heroes. Let’s hope that this wonderful writer will write a lot of such novels to the delight of her readers.  

Leave a Reply


  1. Must watch all the screen versions

  2. How many books did she write?